Friday, December 27, 2013

Christmas Crafts! - SnowGlobes:)


Hey all you Hep Cats and Cool Chicks!!

haha... Crybaby. Movie with Johnny Depp.. Educate yourself


Anyway it's been a while since I updated this little pinterest blog, but i've been doing crafts and just not updating! Soo i'll start with my Christmas stuff that I did!





I found this cute little idea for Mason Jar Snow Globes,

I can't find the link, but ehh, it will be fine.
ADDENDUM: found it! http://doityourselfcollections.blogspot.com/2013/07/discover-this-genius-idea-makeup-magnet.html?m=1


So i went to the all fabulous HOBS LOBS and went a shopping with Ms. Chanandaler Bong (MCB) who..

*MCB HERE. I WORK AT HOBS LOBS NOW *ahem* Thank you. 

anyway.. she does.


So we looked for mason jars, and ornaments in the Christmas aisle...
So here's what we got:
 
Three kinds of ornaments: I didn't use one...
2 different sized mason jars
Glitter
Super Glue
Water.




I glued the 2 penguins to one lid and Let me STRESS THIS. Before you glue make sure the item will fit into the jar!!! Doooo it!

Ok so I also glued little ornaments in a pile in front of the penguins but they didn't stick. They did however look cool floating when I shook the globe! 


Here's the snowman! He was a tight squeeze, but he fit

MCB: that sounds...

Yes yes. Moving on


I then filled the jar with water and placed the little guys inside. Make sure it's filled up. Then I put a heaping amount  of glitter inside. Go with what you feel on amount. 

And here they are!!! 
I love them!

Tips for success:

Be careful with super glue. Literally on my hands with glitter for days... FAH DAYZZZZ
 
Seal the ornaments with some clear nail polish before using them. I did that after everything but it would be good to start that

Make sure you buy heavy glitter. Something that will sink but not float to the top.

Fill up the jar completely with water, I had a little space at the top but it looked ok. 


Radical Factor: Total win.

Just think they are cute! 


Hope everyone had a happy holiday!





Saturday, July 27, 2013

Shelf Door!! I DID IT!

HELLO ALL!!!

YES IT HAS FINALLY HAPPENED! I DID THE PINTEREST DOOR IDEA AND I'M FREAKING PUMPED BECAUSE IT"S ADORABLE!

With the help of my father, code name Carpenter, who is the best and I love him and he puts up with my crazy ideas!
THE ORIGINAL PINTEREST IDEA

This Is the original one

OK so it was hard work, but with a helpful father it took about 3-4 hours...so not bad.

So I found this really cool old door at an Antique Mall, and it was about 40 dollars. This is not bad, but you can definitely find cheaper ones. I just kept coming back to this and I couldn't get it out of my mind! I loved the knob and the hinges.
"K, you make things so difficult" -father/ "Carpenter"
 Unfortunately, the design of the door made this idea a little more difficult! So if you wanted to do it like a challenge, go with how you feel. There was a glass pane in the middle of the door, so we ripped it off, because the door wouldn't fold correctly. But we did use a bit of it, as you can see in the finished picture... below
No panes. wasn't even PANE-ful... nailed it. 

Then the Carpenter used a circular saw to cut the door directly in half.
MEASURE TWICE! ALWAYS MEASURE TWICE

So after it was cut, we stood it up to figure out how to fold it together.
        It worked best screwing the....uhm... place where the hinges are? I don't know what they are called....Well we screwed those two together, with a small overlap.

I wasn't great at picture taking on this one...
"K, Put the phone down and hold this"
"Carpenter! It's for my BLOG!"
"What?"

Then Carpenter found some wood from my uncle, and we made shelves. 4. and he rounded them. I can't describe his technique because I don't know. He measure out from the corner of the shelf to make sure it would stick mostly inside the shelving area. Then he rounded it using an old painting bucket he had.

round.



HERE IT IS! unfinished of course.

 Look at him... he's the best.
also see in the middle? we cut out the glass pane and shoved it in!  love IT!
            Then we went out and OMG IT's CHANANDALER BONG! MCB came for a visit.

We spray painted it white, white enough to cover the old paint, and it still left a nice texture because of the old wood.


 taking it home to my house!

 AND HERE IT IS! ahh I'm so in love with it.

Me and MCB went to the Hobs Lobs (aka Hobby Lobby) and bought some cool knick-knacks, and I had some old books lying around so it was fun and I'm so happy about it!



Uhm Radical Factor: FREAKING NAILED IT! I'M SO PUMPED!


WAHOOOO that's like my favorite thing so far!


ahh i'm just gonna go look at it now...and forever!

ok BYEEEEEE


K :)

Friday, July 19, 2013

Letter Blocking Art Canvas!

Hello All!

I'm back! I've done more canvas art projects like last week and I have about 9 on my wall. I'll upload a picture when it's all done. I'm currently waiting for the 9th one to be done, but I need a printer that will print 9x12... so soon

I found this a long time ago! It was actually one of my first pins on Pinterest:





Sooo... recently my friend and I were in the car, and I was like, "You know what's a good song is? Maybe it was Memphis." My best friend then preceded to scream out the chorus...like it should be done

 <---- WOOO Listen up

 and I thought hells yes I found my new quotes! As my Best friend is moving into the apartment soon, she approved!
TO HOBBY LOBBY I WENT! With the ever present Ms. Chanandaler Bong ( or MCB as I will call her)


We bought 
  • 4 different colors of Acrylic Paint: Teal, Blue, Purple, Yellow
  • White Spray Paint (The original used white acrylic, but she suggested Spray)
  • Helvetica Font Repositionable Vinyl Letters
  • 2 Large Canvas  (16x20) (because I didn't want to but watercolors, or whatever she said in her original)
  • a larger canvas (20x24) , because the 2nd words didn't fit on the two I bought...
  • Foam Brushes
  • Tape (DEFINITELY BUT THIS FOR EDGING 

Then I got to work with MCB. We painted the canvas in two different directions, alternating colors


Here is the almost finished
WOO DONE!


Then we looked at the letters and made sure they would fit.
HEY It's Princess Conseula Banana-Hammock! She came by after we mentioned we were doing activities
I'll call her PCBH from now on
Boom. Looking Good. You go Pam Tillis
I also thought they looked cool like this ^ so if you want you could be done here.... but. I wasn't

Then MCB had to go home and get all fancy so PCBH and I went outside and spray painted the pictures with white paint. I can see why she didn't use normal paint, but spray paint doesn't really cover fully the colors... So to your own discretion. PCBH and I kind of like the fact that you can see through it a little.

Remember to always add your own touch to your art projects. It's yours!
    - some philosophy for you!



See? we made it darker, but it took all the paint we had.

Oh remember that extra canvas I had? I made this down below

OOO CHEVRON...getting fancy up in this house.
This Chevron crap is hard, buy a LOT of tape...and I mean a LOT! and maybe a ruler.....


So we painted, and arranged and spray painted, and chevron-ed...and here's what I got!

YAY!


It looks pretty awesome if I do say so myself! 


Radical Factor: Epic Win based on the difficulty ratio I made up in my head. 
                            IT was some effort
From PCBH- 4 Banana-Hammocks for the Words
                      2 Banana-Hammocks for the Chevron 
                               (missing tape, and it was more difficult than expected....
                                and someone messed up the white paint.. 
"that's me... K.. I got impatient"

From MCB - 4 TV Guides. 



As always, thanks to those out there reading! I hope you enjoy and do it yourself! Don't Let your Pinterest boards go to waste!!!! DO THEM!!!

No i'm serious..

DO THEM

OK, 

See ya later!

K

Next time:
  • Don't worry, i'm still doing the door. It just takes some extra man power, from the Faja. and it's too hot to work on it without health concerns for him. So we are waiting a bit, but he is super excited I think! 
  • Hopefully it will be up next week
  • If not i'll find something else! (i've been looking at this spoon-mirror thing)

BYE!


Monday, July 8, 2013

Canvas Prints!... oh jeez

HELLO ONCE AGAIN WORLD...

or whoever is here.

So I recently moved into a new apartment recently and it's pretty bare... hence the ideas from Pinterest!

What better way to make your apartment your own by filling it with things you did! unless they turn out to be epic fails.

Anyway my walls in recent days were depressing me. I'm known for having many things hanging up, but I didn't have anything for my living room! So to Pinterest I went.

I love pictures and I love my pictures I take, so I figured this would be a fun idea!

DIY Canvas Print

Here ^ are the directions I followed for this activity.


Here are the items you will need!

Mod Podge- I used Gloss (it's the red can)
Black Acrylic Paint
Fine Sandpaper
Assorted Sizes of Canvas
Foam Brushes
A picture!

***TIP***
  definitely get a regular paint brush too...Thought I had one..turns out.. NOPE

Steps!

1. Choose a picture you like.
   I chose one of mine, printed it out on normal computer paper, and then cut it down to size. 
  I had an 8x8 Canvas for this print. 

2. Definitely don't use scissors, use a paper cutter. Or just be trendy and hip and do your own thing. Whatever.

3. Sand your canvas with the fine sandpaper so the Mod Podge can stick to it

4. Put a layer of mod podge on the canvas and stick your print on it!
   If you have stuff on the sides...well you can try and cut it off like i did... but it doesn't work too well.
   My new advice is just to glue it down on the sides!

5. Wait an hour
        While doing this, watch DailyGrace videos on YouTube with a friend! (Thanks Princess Conseula Banana-hammock* and Ms. Chanandaler Bong*) 

Daily Grace!   <--- for you to enjoy! Love How-To Thursdays

*to conceal true identity

6. Then apply another layer of ModPodge on top of the print! Start horizontally and then move vertically...says the real directions..
     (Diagonals man....diagonals)



7. Wait longer! More DG VIDEOS! or spray paint random objects with the leftover purple spray you have around. Once again Shout out to PCBH and MCB









8. Paint the edges of the canvas with black paint! This is where you will need the actual paint brush. Foam Brushes just do not work



9. Add your own personal flair. 
         Because I used the foam brush, I thought sure why not! Add some black trim onto the front of the picture. It works...ok. Ehh. I don't dislike it. 

10. FINAL !!! :)




And yay! Final Project!
I'm currently waiting for it to dry so i can place it somewhere on my wall..
I also have many other canvases to do, but I have to work in an hour and thus have no more time!



Radical Factor: Semi-win....with more practice..definite Epic Win
From PCBH- 4 Banana Hammocks! 
From MCB- 4.5 TV guides 

PS my friends are the best :) they love funny nicknames. 

Have a fabulous day!

K


Next time:

 Look forward to some heavy architecture work... I'm making a door into shelves. Oh excitement abounds. 

Friday, July 5, 2013

Organization Apparatus.... Fancy

 So I saw this: 
On pinterest and i thought how cool it would be to make it!!! so i went to Lowe's and found a PVC pipe that had three sections instead of two. (About 15 bucks)

It looks so happy to see me! (You'll see what I mean)

Then I contemplated what color to spray paint it. Tried to match it with my bathroom, then chose a color that made no sense! 

Purple! (4 bucks)

After spraying it completely and having my helpful friends pick out not so painted spots, I sprayed a rock because I felt sick with power.


Then I let it dry! 

And touched it multiple sticky times....


And BOOM 


It's perfect!!! 

Now I have a nice clutter free area. 

And to get rid of the dangle cord problem I'm going to attach a command strip low on the wall so it's hidden, but the electrical cords are off the ground! 


Wahoo!

Radical factor: epic win! 


K :)

Ever try a Pinterest idea....

And it just totally fails?

Well this will be me chronicling my attempts (some hits and misses) about my ideas I try out myself!! 

It will also be fun attempt with friends as well... It's always more fun with friends lol 


Wahoo!


K :)